Do you promote twitter?

February 20, 2009 at 8:16 pm (Twitter) (, )

Do you talk to people about Twitter? Do you talk to NEW people about Twitter? I’ve talked to friends about Twitter, they know how big of a dork I am. But new acquaintances I’ve never really said anything. Working in sales, I could very definitely talk about Twitter to customers too. I guess it’s hard to explain the concept to non-social media junkies. I’d love to get more people interested, especially if it means I can better connect with my customers.

How to you explain Twitter to acquaintances or customers?

3 Comments

  1. Rex Dixon said,

    Yes and it’s not something people understand. Trying to get the rest of the family on – no one seems to be interested. The funny thing is the person that is most rude about my consistent talk of twitter is in the prime range to be a tweeter – age 25-30 – and she doesn’t seem to want to learn or know anything about it. Another person – age 35-40 – is not at all interested in it.

    Since they don’t want to know anything about twitter, I send them messages about “Well since you don’t want to learn more about twitter… ” – I send my Twitpic site (since they won’t see it), and let them know about FriendFeed, etc… 🙂

  2. Robyns Online World said,

    I talk about twitter on my blog and I know there are folks there who do NOT ues it – yet. In real life outside my home I don’t mention it often – not too many folks have a clue (that I run into) about the internet it seems let alone something like Twitter.

  3. Nerdgazm said,

    It took me a while to grab ahold of Twitter full force. I started my account, and then forgot about it for around 6 months before coming back to check it out. For the first six months I had only 9 tweets, and then I picked it back up in January, and am over the 600 mark. I’m pretty hooked now, I don’t see me forgetting about it again.

    It’s just like anything else… it has to have something to keep your attention, and until you find people that fit the bill, it’s a pretty boring service.

Leave a Reply

