My bandwidth

February 3, 2009 at 11:04 pm (Rants, Technology) (, )

My bandwidth usage for the month of January

My bandwidth usage for the month of January

Yes, I know, it’s not as much as some, but 23 GB is a ton of data for not doing terribly too much. I downloaded BWMeter from their site. It’s free for the 1st 30 days, and it’s pretty interesting. It’s designed more for enterprise setups, but works fine for personal usage.

The main reason I did this was to see if I could stay under the 5GB threshold of most aircards today. The major players have all instituted these “caps” to decrease the amount of users that purchase aircards to replace home Internet connections. If you were just using it for email and light browsing, it wouldn’t be a problem, but the second you open a torrent (legal ones of course) that 5GB would be out the window. Also, satellite providers, like wildblue, also have caps (Their highest being 17GB) that I would also exceed. Hopefully I never move somewhere I can’t get DSL…

Leave a Reply

